World Teacher’s Day

The mediocre teacher tells. The good teachers explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.

– William Arthur Ward

Friday was World Teacher’s Day. The only people who knew were the teachers. The magic of irony.

After work a few of us went to the Duke of Wellington, a local pub, and cheers’d ourselves. A sorry state of affairs.

A big reason why I wanted to be involved in education was because of the incredible teachers I met along my own 12 years of primary and secondary school. So I want to take a moment to say thank you to all the inspiration men and women who helped me realise the value of a great teacher. To my 2nd grade class teacher, Mrs Bartlett, who made learning come alive; to my 8th grade english teacher, Mrs Meyer, who was the first person to push me towards debating; to my Matric science teacher, Mrs Rogers, who had faith in me to always do better; and to all the other teachers who shaped me, educated me, and got me to where I am today. I have not named you all here, but I know the impact you made in my life, and I hope you do to.

Thank you.

A penny for your thoughts?

